The epic first post. 

The purpose of this blog is to document, for the world to see, the financial journey of me, and my gorgeous, and amazing wife. My name is James, I just turned 42 in December, I have 7 biological children and 3 step-kids (yes, I have 10 kids!). My wife and I have been married since 8/8/16, and are super in love. 

4 years ago, I was petrified about my personal finances. I was in stupid amounts of debt, had no idea what personal finance looked like (I really didn’t even know how to perperly balance a checking account), and was convinced that I would be one of those poor souls that never get to actually retire, but instead must work their entire lives, until the Grim Reaper comes to call. In my desperation, I searched iTunes for financial advice podcasts and stumbled upon one by Dave Ramsey, but didn’t have any idea who he was. 

 Listening to his show was like a voice from heaven. After a week, my outlook on my financial future went from one of dispair to one of hopefulness and excitement. I rented The Total Money Makover from the library and devoured it in 3 days. It was the hope I needed so desperately. I announced to my then girlfriend, now my wife, that I was going to change my financial ways, stop being wasteful, pay off my debts, and get a retirement plan in place. I thought her reaction would be all positives, and “Good for you!”, but it was nothing like that. She was upset and very critical of my new ideas, and as unsupportive as you can imagine. I’ll go in to more detail later about her reasons for being un-thrilled. 

Fast forward 4 years, and a large chunk of my debt is eliminated, my wife is fully on board with the plan to eliminate all our debt, and she’s a cheerleader for staying out of debt and good personal finance practices. We are far from the end of our financial journey, and there are lots of things that trip us up, but I’m going to try and document them here for my readers to learn from my mistakes, and to hopefully give hope to people who are as hopeless as I was 4 years ago. 

-James

Leave a Reply

